5 Products I Didn’t Like

Before we get into the mini-reviews, can I just say that I think if you work in the beauty/service industry, you should reaaaaally make sure that you don’t smell bad. I went to get my brows done yesterday and the lady (who is really nice) smelled as though she just came back from break during which she smoked enough cigarettes to smell like an ash tray. I have nothing against people smoking, but I really hate that smoky smell. But of course, poker face on, I just didn’t like the smell.


01 Illamasqua – Masquara in Raven

If the eyes are the windows of the soul, Illamasqua Masquara in Raven reveals a heart of darkness with a formula that lengthens, defines and dramatises lashes to extremes – the ultimate mascara.

Yeah, if the soul get super smudged in like a couple of hours, then this is totally the mascara for you. But sorry, I don’t like panda undereyes, I already have my own dark circles to defeat.

Also, I’m super picky about mascaras in general, because my lashes are super pathetic – they are short, even Asian standards, they tend to fall downwards and cannot hold a curl, and also because of these two factors, I can’t even use an eyelash curler because the lashes won’t even register on the curler, so all I can depend on is mascara to lengthen my pathetic teeny eyelashes, and this one didn’t meet the cut. Even if it didn’t smudge, it was still just a meh, the lashes got darkened a little, but no volume or length was imparted with each flick of the wand, so what was the point? I mean, if I just wanted a coat of black on my lashes, even cheap drugstore mascaras will get the job done.

So nope, this is going to my drawer of regrettable products.


02 Illamasqua – Precision Ink in Havoc

Create looks with attitude that no one can ignore with Precision Ink in Havoc. Precision Ink’s fine tip allows for defined application. Long-lasting and waterproof it’s perfect for use anywhere on the face and body to bring out your bold side.

I wanted to like this because I currently don’t have any liquid eyeliners, and none of my eyeliners are in aubergine, which is really pretty.

I read the reviews, and saw that quite a number of people found it to be budge-proof and long-lasting. But who knows, maybe my wonky skin made it crappy, but it flakes on me after a couple of hours.


03 Tarte – Park Ave Princess™ Contour Palette Volume II

This contouring essential features the cult-favorite Park Ave Princess™ matte waterproof bronzer paired with the complexion-enhancing Glisten blush, with a golden, peachy-pink hue, and a highlighter duo in Champagne for a perfect, everyday glow. These pigmented powders are enriched with tarte’s iconic Amazonian clay, which works to balance all skin types for a fade-proof, effortless finish.

I don’t know who came upon with the name, what the hell is a park avenue princess? Is this one of those it girl/socialite heiress thing? I thought I needed a contouring palette because hello, my face shape is so round, it is the full moon. But nope, I don’t know if it’s my lack of contouring game (most likely so), or the colours, but this didn’t feel suitable for my skintone. I think brown doesn’t give off the notion of a shadow – I think a shadow (which a contour should mimic) should be grey-ish rather than brown, which feels more like a bronzer. Is it just me who thinks this way?


04 shu uemura – ultime8 sublime beauty cleansing oil

Cashmere skin quality: ultime8 complex delivers softer, smoother and moisturized skin for an exquisite makeup finish. The precious essence of 8 exquisite botanical origin oils has been merged together. These oils, carefully sought out from Chinese medicines and beauty oils all over the world, are proven to have the highest skincare efficacy. Utlime8 cleansing oil effortlessly removes all make-up and impurities.

The good thing about this is that it does remove makeup easily, but it’s so frigging oily, and I’m not even using more than 1 pump of this, since I don’t wear heavy makeup. Like, after cleansing with this oil, I will have to follow up with my regular cleanser so that I don’t feel all gross and oily on my face.


05 Lush – Cosmetic Warrior Fresh Face Mask

A gentle and balancing fresh face mask with antibacterial tea tree and fresh garlic working together to cleanse. Fresh green grapes clean and cool the skin, whilst free range eggs tighten its texture and antimicrobial honey leaves it soft and moisturised.

Interested in getting a Lush face mask? Don’t get this one. It smells terrible, so fucking terrible that I had to hold my breath while slathering this on and breathing through my mouth so I don’t smell the horrid stench. Can confirm that garlic and eggs are definitely in this product – they’re not lying.

However, I would have forgiven the stench if it showed any results. It claimed to be good for removing blackheads and preventing spots. NO. Not true for me. In order to use up the product quickly, I also forced my mother to use this, and while she could stand the smell more, because that woman is insane enough to eat garlic, it also didn’t have much results for her.

Leave a Reply

