2016 Perfume Collection (Mainstream + Niche)

Extremely self-indulgent post ahoy, detailing my current perfume collection. My last perfume collection was detailed in 2014.


Elie Saab: L’Eau Couture, Le Parfum EdP Intense, and Le Parfum EdT

I’ve written about the EdT and L’Eau Couture previously, and these are two perfumes I reach for when I’m not in any particular mood. It doesn’t matter if I’m dressed down or not, they’re suitable for all occasions.

What I want from the Elie Saab line: for someone to bring in the La Collection des Essences, so I can test Essence No 1 Rose and No 4 Oud.


Hermes: Un Jardin Sur Le Nil and Jour d`Hermes Absolu

Both Un Jardin sur le Nil and Jour d`Hermes Absolu were created by Jean-Claude Ellena, the house perfumer of Hermes. His signature is creating delicate and wispy fragrances, and the two perfumes I own definitely fall into that category.

Un Jardin sur le Nil is good for hot weather, but the issue I have with it is that the opening can be a little sharp and tart, almost stinging, though the drydown is great, hence I haven’t reached for it as often. Besides, it is fairly simplistic and linear.

Jour d’Hermes Absolu is different in a sense, despite the shared ethereal atmosphere, it’s pale radiant sunlight filtered through a silk scarf, and since it’s on the pricey side, I try to conserve it.


Chloe: Love, Chloe (Eau Florale) EdT and EdP

Weirdly I haven’t written about these two perfumes before, since they were one of my early forage into the perfume scene, thanks to a review I read on Bois de Jasmin.

These two scents are sweet and powdery, but not overwhelmingly so. Personally, I like to wear these scents to bed, which is probably why my mother comments things like ‘why does your bedsheets/blanket smell so sweet?’. Heh.


Acqua di Parma: Rosa Nobile and Colonia

Rosa Nobile is my alternative to Maison Francis Kurkdjian’s A La Rose, as both scents share a citrusy opening before moving onto a youthful dewy rose note.

This mini bottle of Colonia was something I picked up on a whim, and it’s not really my thing – tart to soapy and linear, with minimal sillage. It is a classic type of scent though, something your dad might wear as an aftershave?


Maison Martin Margiela: By the Fireplace, Jazz Club, and Lazy Sunday Morning

By the Fireplace is my most recent addition to the collection, because I really couldn’t resist that sweet smoky scent.

Jazz Club is also a smoky sweet type of scent, but with a boozy, rum & tobacco combination instead of the cedar wood & chestnut blend found in By the Fireplace.

Actually if you asked me why I bought Lazy Sunday Morning, I wouldn’t really be able to explain why, since I don’t really like the soapy opening, and it is so light on my skin, I can’t really detect it after a while. It feels like it should be worn by a thin and pale, straw-coloured hair girl, wearing a thin linen/chiffon summer dress, and completely barefoot, and free of accessories or makeup…


Fresh: Hesperides Grapefruit

To be honest, I really love this during hot weather, but for its price (I got it with Sephora’s 20% discount), its sillage and longevity is ridiculous. It does kind of make up for the fact that I can’t get Guerlain’s Pampelune… even though Pampelune is so much prettier. (But just as fleeting.)


Lolita Lempicka: Lolita Lempicka EdP

I’ve reviewed this previously, and this time round, I wanted to go check out one of their newer creations, Sweet, but I couldn’t find any stockists anymore… I bought my bottle from Robinsons’ a few years ago, but apparently they don’t carry it anymore? Idk, the sales assistant was super unfriendly ):


Alaïa: Alaia Paris

Also one of my newest buys, Alaia Paris was launched in 2015, and it caught my eye because: ‘the fragrance is inspired by the designer’s memories of childhood spent in Tunisia like water poured over hot brick walls’.

“My perfume is not reasonable — it makes time lie. I dreamed of it like an archaeologist dreams of sculptures from antiquity lying at the bottom of the sea for millennia, sculptures of perfect bodies, matched only by the women of today — an ideal and timeless beauty.”


Serge Lutens: Chergui, Jeux de Peau, La Fille de Berlin, and Un Bois Vanille

The best for the last, my love affair with Lutens is not over yet. I’ve talked about all four of the perfumes previously actually. And I have quite a number of decants of his other scents, except they can’t be purchased here, for instance, Iris Silver Mist or Sarrasins.

Un Bois Vanille remains my top comfort scent, and if it were not for the price, it’d top my Love, Chloe, as my bedtime perfume.

Lutens’ recent perfumes are still beautiful, but less eye-catching, since they fall into the oud trend, but didn’t bring any special twist to the table.

Bonus!
Here are some random mini-bottles, that I either got as freebies or because I didn’t like them enough to buy full sizes, e.g Penhaligon’s and L’Occitane.

L’Occitane: Rose 4 Reines, Cerisier, and Verveine
Penhaligon’s: Ellenisia and Sartorial – Both had really low longevity…
Atelier Cologne: Orange Sanguine and Vanille Insensee
L`Artisan Parfumeur: La Chasse aux Papillons

And here’s a shot of my cheap Korres perfumes:

Korres: White Tea Bergamot Freesia, and Vanilla Freesia Lychee

They’re both okay fragrances, but nothing too interesting. I mainly bought them because I couldn’t resist a steal.

2 thoughts on “2016 Perfume Collection (Mainstream + Niche)

    • lol, I’ll pass you samples next time; the sales assistants keep giving me samples for this even when I tell them I have it already.

      also, try By the Fireplace if you can! It’s nicer than Jazz Club, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

