your eyes can be so cruel, just as I can be so cruel

a simple thing that I tend to forget:

my feelings are equally valid as the next person’s.
I should not be making myself feel terrible in exchange for your peace of mind – I don’t have to repress myself for your sake, and why should I?
if there are things that I need to do, I should do it instead of validating you and your ego, because I am just as important as you are.

if I’m sad, I should be allowed to acknowledge my unhappiness and figure out what’s causing it, without having to answer to anyone. I’m allowed to feel whatever it is without feeling guilty that I’m causing trouble to another person.

Leave a Reply

