(not) white & (not that) nerdy

So. In order to qualify for my ‘Yup, Geek in da House’ badge, I have decided that I need to build my own PC.

While my current desktop is still alive and kicking, I realised that the specs of this desktop might probably be worse than the old laptop I used to lug around for my uni classes. Yeah, I’m not surprised, considering that this PC setup was from my brother’s office, and why would the office outfit their computers with high performance graphics cards/powerful cpus? I mean, as long as the employees can use internet explorer and open microsoft office, that’s all they’d need in a normal boring office setting anyway.

The current plan is to pass this PC to my mother, so she can finally use those computer skills she picked up in those WDA courses she used to take, and I’d build my own set up. And because I have never ever built my own PC or even actually thought of it (I used to just tell my brother what I needed and he’d either scrounge up one from his old computer parts or just point me to the right computer model), but hey, I’m a grown up independent geek who needs no adult supervision, okay.

Long story short, these days I turn mostly to reddit for geeky advice, and it did not fail me. I subscribed myself to r/buildapc and r/buildapcforme and started using my free time in the office to read up on things like core processors and hyperthreading, or why liquid cooling is more awesome but not plausible at my budget and skill level.

Parts List (so far)

Newegg
Component Selection
CPU Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor
CPU Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
Motherboard Asus Z97-A ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory
Storage Samsung 850 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5″ Solid State Drive
Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5″ 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Video Card Asus GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Video Card
Case Corsair 500R Black ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply

I’m going to email my brother and see what he says, and well, maybe I’ll be able to get started on building this thing once my second brother moves into his new house.

Leave a Reply

