Sixteen92; Bela Lugosi’s Dead

Since the Fall collection is just up and running, we have pretty photos from Sixteen92’s own website~ instead of my crappy ones because I can’t take good photos.


The bats have left the bell tower
The victims have been bled
Red velvet lines the black box
Bela Lugosi’s dead

– Bauhaus, Bela Lugosi’s Dead

☾ Notes: Night-black clove bud, tobacco absolute, smoked benzoin resin, flame ☽

Spicy warm cloves with traces of slightly sweet smoke wisping delicately upwards, like a log that is being burned slowly, which is probably the tobacco I’m sensing. The scent curls around you, like how one of those femme fatales of the glamourous Hollywood eras would probably cling to your arm, think Veronica Lake, scorpio siren, with that iconic hair:

To be honest, I didn’t think I’d enjoy this scent, because ew, cloves, but I think paired with the smoky notes, the ickness of cloves is less prominent and more acceptable to my nose. But because the scent is so straightforward on me – cloves + fire + smoke, it is kind of boring, and after a while, it starts feeling like you’re on a camping trip and there’s a bonfire going on or something.

The sillage for this one is fairly moderate, since the cloves are pretty prominent. But on the whole, I’d say that the perfume lasts about 3 hours on my skin before it fades away to nothingness like the last wisps of smoke over a blackened stump of burned wood.

Leave a Reply

