No, I don’t have a problem. Okay, maybe I do, so?


(not mine, unfortunately, I’m still starting up my collection :D)

So… if buying one nendoroid is just a sort of ‘oh, that’s cute, I’m getting it’ and then getting a second one is ‘hmm, okay, I do see the appeal of these adorable critters’, what does having half a dozen more on your wishlist/slowly making their way to you count as?

Wait, what are nendoroids, you ask, since I only briefly gushed about how adorable Hozuki was in a previous TiLT post, so here’s the wiki definition:

The Nendoroid (ねんどろいど nendoroido) series is a brand of plastic figures created by the Japanese Good Smile Company in 2006. They typically depict characters from anime, manga or video games and are designed with a large head and smaller body to give them a cute appearance. Their faces and other body parts are exchangeable, giving them a range of different expressions and poses. The Nendoroid brand spans a variety of different products: the original 10 cm figures, smaller Nendoroid Petite figures, additional display tools known as the Nendoroid More series as well as plushies and play sets.

Why did I develop this sudden crazy for nendoroids, you might ask. But if I think back to some years back, well, there was a time when I was completely mad about BJD – Ball-Jointed Dolls, but as I was only in secondary school, I could hardly afford to get one, so I mainly just browsed livejournals and quietly wished I had the money to buy my own, but gradually, I guess I forgot about them, when I was too busy doing gods-know-what with my time. (Oh yes, I was also crazy about the EGL fashion trend back in school, except I’m too fat to pull it off [how to look gothic and elegant when you’re fat, hurrdurr.] And it’s also way too expensive, even now, for me to consider.)


(this lady makes me wish I could sew… I wanted to get pictures from the LJ I was following previously, but they were on hiatus, and everything was taken down ;_;)

So yeah, as compared to BJDs, Nendoroids are slightly more affordable, and cuter in a sense. I mean, BJDs are ethereally beautiful, and also slightly creepy in a sense, but Nendoroids? They’re straight up chibi-fied cute.

The new Nendoroid in my collection? A throwback to my childhood:

I hope they’ll make the whole set, with Syaoran & Toya & Yukito. I know Tomoyo exists, and she’s definitely making her way here somehow, but c’mon, I need the whole gang to enact awesome scenes. Also, Toya/Yukito shipper here, yes, I was probably shipping them even before I discovered what the whole BL genre was when I was a kid. Man, I should re-watch this series sometime. Along with Magic Knight Rayearth :D

Leave a Reply

