Things I Love Thursday

The week seems to be passing by reaaally quickly, though everyday feels like the same day.


I got my Blackbird Cosmetics order the other day, and it’s so awesomely packaged. But the main draw of the order was obviously the pressed matte shadows because most of my cosmetics are in the form of loose powder and definitely not really matte. It’s hard to find good quality matte shadows.

The third book for Littlest Lovecraft: The Dunwich Horror got funded the other day and I’ve gotten a cool postcard to stick onto my wall while I await the book to be finished :D

While I’m only four episodes into Marvel’s Daredevil, I’ve shifted my attention to trying out the cult series, Twin Peaks. I know its importance in popular culture, and how many people look up to David Lynch, but I never really got around to watching the series, so here am I now, mainly because I’ve been checking out stuff by game designer Swery65 (D4: Dark Dreams Don’t Die & Deadly Premonition), and I thought it’d be cool to see where all his references and influences came from.

(Slash book series) Recently finished Megan Derr’s Princes of the Blood series, and well, those three books were quite an enjoyable romp, though as always, with good books, I think they’re too short. The third book was probably my favourite, and I thought the first book was the weakest in my opinion, especially the ending. I’m all for happy endings, buuuut not when they seem so convoluted yet so cliched. But the world building was really good, though the actions could be better written. I’ve always enjoyed Megan Derr’s writing, and well, I’d love to read more stories set in this universe.

My colleague got promoted one rank higher and my ex-fellow temp has found a full time job at a bank :D It’s great to know that your friends are doing well, especially for those that you don’t really hear from a lot sometimes. Because even though you’re not succeeding yourself, the next best thing is to know that the people around you are doing well. Also, free lunch from the colleague, yay~

Touch Pianist – it’s an app, but I’ve only fiddled around with it on my computer. It’s pretty relaxing in the sense that you just press random notes on your keyboard and it sounds great, haha, though I guess you have to care about the rhythm.

Lastly, a gorgeous cover of Simon and Garfunkel’s Sound of Silence by Icelandic singer, Emiliana Torrini, to slowly and gently lull me to sleep.

Hello darkness, my old friend,
I’ve come to talk with you again,
Because a vision softly creeping,
Left its seeds while I was sleeping,
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence.

Leave a Reply

