now that your rose is in bloom

Marriage is love. It’s commitment. It’s joy. It’s understanding, it’s patience. It’s anger, it’s reconciliation. It’s everything. It’s like oatmeal… it sustains you.

I have no idea if my new sister-in-law wore any fragrance (she probably did) during her wedding, because I didn’t go that close or sit near her the entire day. And as an attendee and also a helper at the festivities, I wore Serge Lutens’ La Fille de Berlin, because it feels like a good scent – good sillage but not overpowering, decent longevity, rose based but not generic.

But you know what, if anyone gets hitched, or in a parallel universe where I deign to get married, my recommendation for a wedding fragrance would be the latest creation from Maison Francis Kurkdjian, A La Rose.


When done wrongly, a rose based perfume can be overly floral and powdery, reminiscent of an elderly lady, but when done right, it can be a gorgeous youthful bloom.

Kurkdjian on his perfume: A la Rose is an ode to femininity, a declaration of love captured in a fragrance. Two hundred and fifty precious roses from Grasse offer their radiance and their unmatched richness in every flacon


Notes: Damascena Rose from Bulgaria, Bergamot from Calabria, Orange from California, Violet, Magnolia Blossom, Cedar Wood, Musk and Centifolia Rose from Grasse

I only managed to test this one out in the store and I fell in love with it almost immediately. Delicate and floral, this is sweet in a youthful dewy manner, not the artificial candied sweetness. In the opening, a short burst of citrus creates a clean and fresh atmosphere, until the roses start drifting in, creating a lovely peachy-pink haze of light.

I’d love to buy a full size of this one and idk, wear it to bed, but it’s way out of my price range currently, and I’ll probably have to make do with a decant of it for now. So, ye perfume deities, please don’t ever let this one discontinue, okay, I’ll beg if I have to.

One thought on “now that your rose is in bloom

  1. Pingback: 2016 Perfume Collection (Mainstream + Niche) | my ARTOFLIFE

Leave a Reply

