Happily (N)ever After

Heeey, it’s been a week of surprise hiatus. Surprise in the sense that I didn’t mean to take a break, but then somehow I just didn’t feel like writing anything. Not even on other social media platforms, of which I mean angsting on Twitter.

Everything has an ending – living things, the earth we’re on, the entire universe, abstract concepts. Things somehow just have a finite lifespan and most of the time, endings aren’t great. Even good endings are bittersweet at most. And happy endings? Only exist in some tales. Real life isn’t forgiving enough.

So yeah, kid!me was all about the happy endings, but teen!me went through a bout of the whole ‘darkness is beauty, death is the only truth’ kind of mindset, and any sort of happy endings were seen as a cop out, that the creator was a pansy who couldn’t handle the harsh truth about life, that happiness is only momentary, and eventually something will push us out of that blissful state and ultimately the misery you feel will be worse because you now know how it feels to be happy.

And idk, I guess the me now wants more happy endings just because if I can’t be happy in my own life, or maybe never going past that contented stage, I want fictitious characters to be happy at least. In the sense that I can live vicariously through them and enjoy the fact that they get the good outcomes and in the moment that we leave them behind, life is good. Yeah, I still subscribe to the notion that there is no such thing as a ‘happily ever after’, I go for the ‘happy for now’ route, because let’s be realistic, no one can be happy 24/7, good things don’t happen every single day, unless you’re drinking vats of Felix Felicis.

And the thing about endings is one major reason why I love fanfiction/other types of fanworks and video games with many different outcomes depending on your actions. Fanfiction, when properly written, gives you the answer to all the ‘what-ifs’ and ‘maybes’. It is a tool to change the endings if you didn’t like what the creator had done originally. Of course, by no means is the fan written work canon, but it’s cathartic in its own way, to know that you can change the ending of the work, though I guess you’re betraying the creator’s artistic vision. As for games with multiple endings, I like the fact that you get to make choices and each choice affects the ending you get ultimately, and there’s always good and bad endings; it’s like telling you that hey, you can make things wrong, the characters can have their ‘happily for now’ ending if you just make all the right decisions and maybe no one will have to die. Except sometimes, no matter what, all roads lead to death.

Leave a Reply

