BPAL; Dust of Snow

The way a crow
Shook down on me
The dust of snow
From a hemlock tree

Has given my heart
A change of mood
And saved some part
Of a day I had rued.

– Robert Frost

snowflakes and hemlock leaves with snowdrop, iris, and Peruvian lily.

I’d describe this one as coldly sweet, it’s not the bright sweetness of fruits, but something greener, like fresh leaves with soft pale flowers, almost fragile and delicate, if not for the near touch of mint. I’m not sure what hemlock leaves smell like, but I’m pretty sure it’s responsible for the greenness of this scent, just like the soft floral notes could probably be the irises, though I’m not sure if Peruvian lilies smell the same as normal lilies? It’s fresh and airy, very light on the skin, although the sillage is surprisingly quite decent.

As it dries down, the minty/green element softens to almost nothing, leaving behind a softly sweet floral scent, that is subtle in its prettiness.

One thought on “BPAL; Dust of Snow

  1. Pingback: now is the winter of our discontent | my ARTOFLIFE

Leave a Reply

