Priorities

Meeting up with friends is always great, but sometimes, the conversational topics leave me feeling disheartened and tired of adulthood. Yeah, I know we can’t always talk about fun stuff, like tv shows and travelling plans, but serious things like marriage and buying houses? I find myself recoiling almost physically when we inevitably wind up discussing and end up being more ludicrous to keep the atmosphere relaxed.

It’s not that I can’t talk about things like careers and relationships, I’m perfectly conversational in all sort of crap, but I think my priorities are different? I don’t really care about people getting engaged or even married *gasp*, and yes, I understand if that makes me a terrible friend, if I tell you that I don’t think we are particularly ready for something as serious as applying for flats or getting married. It has gotten to the point where I’ll try to divert the topic to safer grounds with a silly remark or a subject change.

Perhaps I’m sort of getting left behind? And I have the feeling that this gap between us will only get wider, since the things we want in life will inevitably start to differ. Look, there they are with their talk about future plans and here I am swooning over 2D characters…

To be honest, I don’t know when I became so adverse to ‘growing up’, when all I wanted as a child, was to be an adult and be free, although, come to think of it, that’s a really childish desire too – the notion that adulthood means being able to stay up late until wee hours, doing whatever you want and buying all the things you like because you have the money. But lately nowadays, all I want is to go back to easier days, where all I had to worry about was whether or not I can copy my homework from my friends, and if the stall with the nice food will have a long queue.

I guess I have to face up to reality sooner or later, that time is forever marching on and you can’t rewind your life like a cassette tape even if it does contain Awesome Hits, Volume 1.

One thought on “Priorities

Leave a Reply

