Tom Ford; Tobacco Vanille


This is one of the scents that I rarely touch because I have so little of it, not because I hate the scent. At the moment, my tiny vial is only 1/4 filled, and I’m hoarding it like the weirdo that you all know I am.

Description from the Tom Ford website: A modern take on an old world men’s club. A smooth Oriental, TOBACCO VANILLE opens immediately with opulent essences of Tobacco Leaf and aromatic spice notes. The heart unfolds with creamy Tonka Bean, Tobacco Flower, Vanilla and Cocoa, and finishes with A Dry Fruit Accord, enriched with Sweet Wood Sap.

I’m hardly knowledgeable about designer perfumes, but hey, I know what my nose likes, so that’s good enough for me.

Tobacco Vanille doesn’t smell much like tobacco to me, but then again, my only experience with tobacco is the annoying cigarette smell that I detest. If I’m not wrong, the actual tobacco leaf/plant is supposed to smell sweet or something.

Right from the start, I get a strong whiff of spices and sweetness, like chai tea with a huge dollop of honey, there’s also this slight boozy undertone that disappears after a while. This is definitely one gourmand scent, especially when the vanilla takes centre stage and dominates the rest of the drydown. It’s creamy and soft, almost powdery, and I don’t really get the woody or the cocoa aspects. The tobacco note seems to slither in and out, like an elusive shadow.

I can’t really talk about the sillage, since I can only dab the perfume on, but it stays close to my skin and lasts really long, up to 8 hours.

This feels like one of those scents you’d wear on colder days because it’s so warm and cozy. I can imagine someone dressed in a cashmere sweater sitting in a stuffed armchair with a pipe, and the sound of a fireplace crackling merrily.

Leave a Reply

