Darling Clandestine; Maudlin & Bedlam


The given notes are: dark, warm honey and herbals and wood frosted unsettlingly with weeping green leaves.

Random digression: clandestine is one of my most favourite words, it evokes this sense of secrecy and things kept in the dark because of spooky reasons. And it feels as though Clandestine could totally work as a name, you know, like Constantine. Okay, I’m not making any sense here. Let’s just go on to the review, right-o.

Maudlin & Bedlam, I must admit, I was first drawn in by the name. It sounds so… contradictory? I mean, maudlin has the idea of this quiet drunken morose-ness, whereas bedlam simply means an uproar and confusion, which would be chaotic and noisy. It’s a jarring sort of juxtaposition, in my opinion.

Evonne writes fantastic descriptions for her perfumes, not the mere depiction of the notes that can be found in her blended creations, but rather like a true artisan, she sets the scene first, evoking emotions and memories through her words and then through her scents.

From the description: You and I, my love, we’re mercurial in tandem. Miles apart, we go missing together, outlandishly missing with each whiskey sunset, to reappear like the dew, like the frost. Every so often I dream of spacecraft, of a nautilus in a jar, and every so often your face floats past the portholes, your breath icing the glass. We’re instrumented like clockwork. We’re fused like honeycomb. We’re etched like steel, and when I move, I move you. You whisper down alleys, and you are the stone where I stumble. Still I sing bonny boys, and I am the static charge before the wind cuts through you. You have words for me. Send them to me. Send them to me on the dusk.

Isn’t the description just poetical and beautiful? It’s like a… sad love story that speak volumes through a few sentences, where you get to fill in the blanks yourself.

On the skin, it opens up warmly, almost spicy, which makes you wonder for a moment, why? But then you realise that the spiciness is actually from the herbals and the leaves. There’s this freshness to it, perhaps a hint of mint? But it’s tempered and evened out with the sweetness of honey, so it becomes smoother and less medicinal.

It’s not one of those bright fruity scents that people seem to wear on the streets, seriously I think so many girls wear similar scents/deodorants, because I recognize them after smelling them on so many different people! Maudlin & Bedlam lives up to its name, it’s dark and mysterious and definitely could work fantastically as a unisex scent, as Evonne states.

Leave a Reply

