Solstice Scents; Spellbound Woods

This category was inspired by a blogger’s side project, 365 days of smells, in which she reviewed an indie scent everyday. Obviously, considering my collection isn’t as large and I have no desire to write about perfumery daily (even though I do enjoy it as a hobby greatly), making this a weekly thing would be a fun break from reading about my constant melodrama, right?

Anyway, today’s pick was brought to you by a random number generator, because the ocd freak in me has nicely organized my collection in a numbered Excel file for handy referencing. 

Solstice Scents is an indie company in the US, selling quite a range of products – body lotions, whipped soaps, perfumes, sugar scrubs etc. Their prices are pretty affordable, and shipping isn’t too exorbitant, unlike many other online stores, which is really good.


A soft, incensy blend of vanilla, sandalwood, cedar & amber

From the website: Spellbound Woods is magical blend of alluring vanilla, sandalwood, amber and cedarwood. It is amazingly soft, light and sensual…not overpowering at all. It is softly sweet from the vanilla, but not in a buttercream foody kind of way. It is a nice unisex scent and smells like a light, very mild incense without smoke notes. A soft vanilla is the strongest note, laying on a bed of very mild and delicious woods. This scent is pure magic. Contains sandalwood essential oil. A top seller!

It started off being merely very sweet and warm, which is probably the vanilla and amber parts. The sandalwood was actually quite prominent for me, and it reminded me quite a bit of my first yoga teacher, who liked to spray sandalwood essential oil on our wrists and make us meditate in a seated position. Next, I noticed the cedar note, which seemed a little out of place to me, actually, especially when the vanilla has faded/dried down and isn’t really that obvious anymore.

It smells perfectly nice, but I’m not really that fond of the scent, and nothing really jumps out at me. Sillage isn’t that noticeable after it has dried down, unless I sniff at my wrists, which is good, I suppose, as opposed to those people who wear really loud scents – you smell them before you even spot them coming down the road. Longevity isn’t that great on me; my skin eats scents, I tell you. They’re nearly gone within 2 to 3 hours.

Leave a Reply

